Sunday Quotes on Chronic Illness

(image from IMDB.com)

Today’s quotes are all from one person, Karen Duffy.  In 1995 she was diagnosed with  sarcoidosis, and specifically neurosarcoidosis which affects her brain   When I went looking for quotes for chronic illness, the link to her quotes on the web site Brainy Quote was in the top three.  Duffy was a MTV VJ but she is also a film and TV actress, model and author.

Her Wikipedia page has the following:

Duffy was leading a relatively carefree youth in the heyday of her modeling career, partying with movie star friends such as George Clooney, when in 1995 she was diagnosed with the relatively rare disease sarcoidosis. In her case, this affected her brain (neurosarcoidosis), leaving her partially paralyzed. She has so far battled it with a sense of humor, as is evident from her 2000 autobiography Model Patient: My Life As an Incurable Wise-Ass.

The following quotes are from Brainy Quote.

Concealing an illness is like keeping a beach ball under water.

I did as much research as I could and I took ownership of this illness, because if you don’t take care of your body, where are you going to live?

I still when I wake up hit the ground running; and having an illness, I’m only one of hundreds of thousands of people that live with an illness, and I’m just in awe of the bravery and dignity of the people I see at the hospital.

In a way, I have simplified my life by setting priorities.

In the beginning, when I first found out I had a disease that was incurable, emotionally I had to get used to the idea of being sick before I could think about making any other major decisions in my life.

I also found an interview Duffy did with CNN where I found the following quotes.

Sarcoidosis isn’t some burden that I carry. It’s not a gift that I would have picked out for myself. But now that I have it, it’s made me actually stronger. It’s made me braver.

When [my doctor] saw me and saw the level of pain that I was in. He said, ‘I’m going to call right now and send you over to get a series of MRIs.’ My life as a healthy person pretty much ended and my whole new life began, which is having to deal with a chronic illness.

2 comments

  1. Hello,

    I read your post about Karen Duffy. If you haven’t read her book “Model Patient: My Life As an Incurable Wise Ass” you absolutely should! The first part is about her wild wild life… then the illness strikes.

    Her mix of practical suggestions and silliness is so enjoyable. She is a very remarkable person. I do wish I could meet her. I’ve lent my copy of her book out so many times that it’s frightfully dog-earred!

    I’ve just started blogging myself in the last 2 weeks I hope you’ll stop by and visit my blog: “Nip Pain in the bud & let your Soul blossom” – I love to get comments and hear suggestions.

    Thanx,
    -Shannon

    1. Hi Shannon,

      Thanks for the heads-up about Karen Duffy’s book. I’ll have to add that to my list.

      And, I’ve already seen your blog through a link from ChronicBabe.com! I’ve even bookmarked last Tuesday’s entry as a “read this weekend” item. I’m always interested in seeing what is happening with migraines. While never told that was a problem with me, I’ve recently found out that dizziness can be the only symptom of migraines, which dad had. Mom had Meniere’s, and while told it’s not genetic, I have now learned that it can be. The learning journey continues.

      Have a great day!

      Maureen

Leave a Reply

