Thanksgiving 2010

As I’m typing this, the final preparations are being made for the U.S. Thanksgiving.  Parades, food and family are on the agenda for many people.

It’s also a time that people will take a few moments and think of what they are thankful for, and I’m no different.

In no particular order, here’s a short list of some things that I’m thankful are a part of my life.

  • Getting on disability.  It wasn’t easy and it took two times before I was approved, but getting the extra money each month has given me the chance to get the internet and to realize I’m truly not alone in my journey.  Having the internet has taken away some of the isolation, especially the mental isolation, and has helped me adjust to a new normal.
  • I live in a big, old house that was  turned into a rooming house.  It’s not the best of ways to live but we’re making the best of what, for many of us, is a lousy situation.  No one grows up thinking “I am going to live in a rooming house!” as part of their dream life.  Sometimes life doesn’t throw you a curve ball but many balls get thrown at you and there is no keeping up.  Again, making the best of a lousy situation.
  • There has always been a group of people in the house that I consider friends who I can hang out with, and on days when I feel like crap, will run an errand for me.  And vice versa since we are all dealing with health issues.  We have given each other money or bank cards and have been able to trust the person to get what we need.  We have made a little community for ourselves where we can help each other out, talk through problems and check in on each other.  They have truly kept me from the depths of depression.
  • Online shopping.  When walking a few blocks can be a nightmare, or an impossibility, being able to get anything online is a dream come true.
  • All the information, entertainment and craziness that is available online with a quick search.

Well, that’s my short list.    It’s time to settle down for the night and be thankful for the warm home, food in my fridge and clothes that take me from season to season.

I hope you have a safe holiday and I leave you with this quote:

Thanksgiving comes to us out of the prehistoric dimness, universal to all ages and all faiths.  At whatever straws we must grasp, there is always a time for gratitude and new beginnings.

~J. Robert Moskin


Leave a Reply

