Change

When we have a chronic illness, change is forced upon us in what seems like limitless ways.  As it is with so many others, my life was changed in an instant.   The sturdy foundation that we thought we had starts crumbling away and we have to learn to adapt in various ways.

But I realize I have been stuck mentally and not putting the effort into changing for the better.  Obviously, one of the ways I’m changing is by reading blogs by different people with chronic illness and by starting my own blog.   The knowledge and inspiration that I receive from reading these blogs have made me realize that I can do it too!  Knowledge truly is power and the knowledge that we are not alone has started the building of a sturdy foundation.

In 2011, I want and need to change some of the my beliefs and fears that have been holding me back and keeping me in a rut.  For more inspiration, I looked at the quotes on the web site Wisdom Quotes.     A few have really struck a nerve with me and I included them in this post.  These are all from the category of Change and find they are relevant to me right now.  2011 will bring about change for me, not only by doing things step-by-step, but I’m sure with some wild and uncomfortable rides.

It’s been extremely freeing to acknowledge and accept that, health-wise, I will not be getting much better.  I’m embracing this new freedom and moving forward to a better me.

If you don’t like something change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.

– Mary Engelbreit

Most people can look back over the years and identify a time and place at which their lives changed significantly. Whether by accident or design, these are the moments when, because of a readiness within us and a collaboration with events occurring around us, we are forced to seriously reappraise ourselves and the conditions under which we live and to make certain choices that will affect the rest of our lives.

– Frederick F. Flack

The curious paradox is that when I accept myself just as I am, then I can change.

– Carl Rogers

The truth is that our finest moments are most likely to occur when we are feeling deeply uncomfortable, unhappy, or unfulfilled. For it is only in such moments, propelled by our discomfort, that we are likely to step out of our ruts and start searching for different ways or truer answers.

– M. Scott Peck

Leave a Reply

