I’m Thankful For The Little Things In Life

(Image from lift-me-today.com)

Our chronic illnesses, and the many symptoms and side effects that go along with them, are part of our daily lives. Not only are we dealing with the physical aspects of chronic illness, but we are also dealing with the emotional and mental aspects as well.   Some of our days are better and some are worse.

And then there are the days that are, for a variety of reasons, overwhelming.

On those days (and also my better days) I will try to take a step back and do some small thing to help me cope. Other days all I need to do is stop for a few minutes and  remember some of the little, everyday things that I’m thankful for that help make this journey with chronic illness a little easier.

Where I live I get all four seasons and each season brings something different and wonderful to remember.

  • Spring means that grass will be growing,  trees come out of hibernation and within a few days are full of life, flowers blooming, my runny nose because I can’t stop myself from sniffing the flowers. Okay, not so thankful for the runny nose but one of the neighbours has a big, beautiful lilac tree and I will go, stand under the tree and just breathe in the scent.
  • The three little entrepreneurs from across the street who sell lemonade on really hot, summer days.
  • Our front porch becomes a little gathering place for us and some neighbours on hot summer nights. And, sometimes, one of the guys will play his guitar and serenade us.
  • The different people who will shovel from the front porch to the sidewalk or help with yard work so that the job isn’t left to one person.
  • The changing fall colours. We have a lot of large, old trees on our street that change colour. On sunny days it’s postcard perfect with splashes of orange, yellow and red.
  • Really big and fluffy snowflakes. I find that watching them fall is the winter equivalent to listening to rain in the summer.

A hot cup of tea. And when my tummy is upset, peppermint tea.

Even though I live downtown, there are some blissfully quiet times. Evenings and weekends can be wonderful and Sunday mornings are the best!

Music and movies that can take me away from the stress, anxiety, and the daily ups and downs. My new favourite cd that I’m listening to is 21 by Adele.

The people who I live with are also going through their own health issues. They have the same warped sense of humour that I do and the simple act of talking with each other, being there for each other and laughing at the stupidest things help so much.

(Image from lift-me-today.com)

8 comments

  1. I, too, have a warped sense of humo(u)r inherited from my father. I try to find the funniness within the confines of being a chronic. It’s great that you share a space with understanding and funny people.

  2. Every time I read about your porch and how you will hang out there with your neighbors, I am jealous.

    I remember this kind of life when I was in college, but since I’ve gotten older it’s so hard to make good friends, even harder to get to know your neighbors, and unfortunately our house doesn’t have a porch.

    I really want to move to an older, more established neighborhood, and have a place with a porch. 🙂

    I agree, it’s the small things that make the difference.

    1. I know one day we’re going to have to move so I enjoy it as much as I can. Even in the colder fall evenings when we really should be in the house, I’ve dragged a couple of people out there with me and my blanket wrapped around me, just to enjoy it a bit more. The only thing better would be to have an outdoor fire pit or stove to sit around. I don’t know why the builders got rid of the porches as they built the houses throughout the years. My mom, who was 40 years older than me, grew up when having a porch was the norm. People would sit on them, you got to know the neighbours and their kids, say hi to the people as they walk by. Would be gossipy at times but that seems better than the isolation of the newer built homes.

      I agree with you about making friends as you get older, especially when you can’t get out on a regular basis like before. It’s easy to make acquaintances, but that’s not the same. That’s probably going to be the hardest part, going without that support system we’ve built for each other. I’ve been talking with one of the guys here and he’s been thinking the same sort of things. I’m relishing it while I can.

    1. I think nature brings out the best in us. Whether it’s a fun activity, we are helping someone by doing a bit of work for them that they can’t do or just enjoying Mother Nature, we usually feel better afterwards .

      Thanks for dropping by.

  3. Enjoying the seasons for what they are, not what they could be to help us through, that’s something I know I need to learn.

    Humor, oh yes, I am full of sarcasm and dark humor. If I wasn’t, I’d be in a sorry state.

Leave a Reply

