Sunday Quotes – Eleanor Roosevelt

(Image via searchquotes.com)

You have to accept whatever comes and the only important thing is that you meet it with courage and with the best that you have to give.

Many people will walk in and out of your life, but only true friends will leave footprints in your heart

A little simplification would be the first step toward rational living, I think.

A woman is like a tea bag – you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.

Do what you feel in your heart to be right- for you’ll be criticized anyway. You’ll be damned if you do, and damned if you don’t.

Friendship with ones self is all important, because without it one cannot be friends with anyone else in the world.

I once had a rose named after me and I was very flattered. But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalogue: no good in a bed, but fine up against a wall.

Life must be lived and curiosity kept alive. One must never, for whatever reason, turn his back on life.

We are afraid to care too much, for fear that the other person does not care at all.

4 comments

  1. Many great quotes. But I must say, the comment about the Rose made me cackle with laughter!

    At that time in history, that must have been a very scandalous thing to say.

    Go Girl!!

  2. I agree with Wendy….very scadalous coming from The First Lady…but I love it! I am going to use the first quote on my facebook page I love it!
    mo

  3. I did a quick search to find when she might have said that but couldn’t find it. I’m guessing maybe the 50’s as she passed away in 1962. Even if she weren’t The First Lady, that kind of comment would have been reserved for your close friends and not said in public. She was, in ways, born ahead of her time. But if it weren’t for trailblazers like her, I don’t know where we would be today.

Leave a Reply

