The Time To Start Holiday Planning Is Now

(Image via icanhascheezburger.com)

Christmas commercials are already on TV! Halloween candy in the grocery stores since the beginning of September! Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, Christmas and Kwanzaa will soon be here! So will a lot of stress if you don’t plan. Have you started preparing for the holiday season or is making plans a quaint idea for another month (or year)? Here’s some ideas to help reduce the stress.


Are the Holidays Over Yet? 
is by A Journey to Joy. Some of the advice given includes:

  • You really don’t have to do it all,
  • Figure out a game plan ahead of time and
  • Delegate

Younger children being surrounded by stressed adults and disrupted routines. Older teens wanting to spend more time with their friends instead of their family. There are many ways your children can also become stressed. Here’s some tips to help lower the stress for your children and teens.

Your animals can get stressed, too!  Some signs that your pet may be stressed are:

  • Eating less or not at all
  • An inclination to stay in hiding
  • Inappropriate chewing, barking, biting, or elimination

While the Arthritis Today article A Holiday Season without Holiday Stress  is for people with chronic illness, everyone will find some great advice in reducing holiday stress.

Crabby kids and adults, unrealistic expectations, family that didn’t show up for dinner, family you wish would stay away…it must be the holidays. Psychology Today has the article Surviving Holiday Hell.

And if you’re still procrastinating looking for more ideas, Onlineorganizing.com has more links on their page.

2 comments

  1. I’m in Canada and we celebrate thanksgiving in October, on the 10th. We’re actually planning a family [in law] get together on the 1st of Oct to celebrate it early. We all bring something. Every year I get tasked with the salad for these holiday events, probably the most labor intensive thing to make and my husband accepted that task on the phone the other day along with also bringing potatoes. I wish I knew how to get out of bringing the salad. Until I figure that out, or stop being asked to bring salad, I will bring bags of salad I guess and they can just suck it that it’s not made fr. scratch.

    Then there’s the fact neither my husband or myself really feel listened to…often the discussion comes up about chocolate and how we both prefer dark chocolate. This has been said in the presence of my sister in law. Soooo, what does she buy us for Christmas every year? MILK chocolate. It’s not the chocolate, it’s the fact that we are not listened to.

    I don’t know how to handle that one either!

    1. It’s funny you mention Canadian Thanksgiving. I’m Canadian too and I received a couple of emails from Chatalaine about Thanksgiving meals. I’m doing a post on fall/thanksgiving meals and I was looking at them and seeing what ones to include.

      I think bagged salads are a great idea. We do that a lot of times in the summer and usually get the mixed salad. Everything is in the bags. If I really want to, I’ll add tomatoes but that’s about it. We keep it pretty simple. The holidays are supposed to be about spending time with each other but, you know how things can be.

      I’ve been on the receiving end of unasked for gifts and I just had to be gracious because you don’t want to seem unappreciative when around other people or kids. One year, I spent Christmas with friends who had 2 children under the age of 3. I was all for getting stuff for the kids and suggested the four adults put in money for a Christmas hamper or charity instead of getting gifts. Keep it simple for us but do a feel good kind of thing. She wanted gifts so I made a gift-specific list that they could choose from in the price range we agreed upon. Because they had young kids, I wanted to make things super easy for when they shopped. Didn’t get one thing that I asked for, and like you, it was not being listened to. Although, sad to say, it was also a friendship that was in the very early stages of drifting apart, just didn’t realize it at the time.

      As I’ve gotten older, I would rather enjoy the company than do a gift exchange. To me, the friends, family and the memories are the gift.

Leave a Reply

