Sunday Quotes – Teachers

(Image via newsblueten.com)

 

I got into acting because my teachers kept nudging me into it. The power a teacher has to influence someone is so great. I can’t think of a profession I have more respect for.

Jon Hamm

As a student I learned from wonderful teachers and ever since then I’ve thought everyone is a teacher.

Bill Moyers

Everyone who remembers his own education remembers teachers, not methods and techniques. The teacher is the heart of the educational system.

Sidney Hook

Give your teachers the respect they deserve, because they are the ones who can help you get where you need to go.

Richard Howard

In teaching you cannot see the fruit of a day’s work.  It is invisible and remains so, maybe for twenty years.

Jacques Barzun

A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.

Henry Brooks Adams

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. I believe we are all teachers, just not formalized. We have to be mindful of what we do, not just what we say.
    Strangely enough I remember the teachers who “traumatized me” – they didn’t mean to, I was just a sensitive child (no one would believe that now!)

  2. You’re absolutely right, we are all teachers. Some lessons are huge, others subtle.

    You were a sensitive child, too? Still am depending on the situation, but a good deal of the sensitivity must be gone. I’ve been asked a few times since I’ve become sick (and always by guys) if I was in the army. “No” is my reply. And, depending on the guy I will add, usually in a nice way, “I just recognize your b.s. and I’m not going to take it”.

    Growing up, chronic illness and roaring to menopause! All great teachers in their own right.

  3. I have so many teachers to thank in my life. Not just those of the profession, but also people like my mother who believed in me every day of her life..she taught me more than anyone ever could, or a friend’s father who used to live down the street who taught me to believe I could do something even when i thought I couldn’t. And of course, the friends (including my husband) who have taught me that it’s ok to be wrong, to hurt, to be myself….

    I still have one teacher from High School and one from College that I keep in touch with.

    When I was in college I was an Education/Math major. I took a class called, Art for the Elementary School Teacher. One day, my teacher caught me in the hall and said, “You know, if you are going to teach, you really should teach art.” And that was the birth of a whole new journey.
    I’d always loved art, but never thought I was that good.

    I’m happy to say I ended up with an Art Scholarship, and honored with an Award my Senior year for being acknowledged as an outstanding Art student.

    Granted, I’ve had some bumps along the way, and I’m not where I thought I’d be…I once told my favorite teacher I was going to come back there and take his job! He laughed and then told me that I just failed his class! hahaha
    So I’m not the great artist I thought I’d be, but discovering how much it is helping me with my illnesses, is amazing, and making me feel like an artist again.

    thanks to you, all of my teachers!

    1. That’s awesome that you’re still in touch with two of your teachers, especially your high school teacher. When I went to school there were so many kids in the classes, there were a lot of media stories at the time about overcrowding in school. I think the teachers were so busy, it was a case of they did the best they could but wished they could do more.

Leave a Reply

