All Hallow’s Read – Do You Know What It Is?

(Image via vampires.com)

Do you want to be part of a new tradition? Do you love scary stories? My favourite author, Neil Gaiman, wrote a blog last year (2010) about sitting on an airplane shortly before Halloween. He was thinking about books and traditions and this is what he thought:

You know, there aren’t enough traditions that involve giving books.

That one thought lead to an idea:

I propose that, on Hallowe’en or during the week of Hallowe’en, we give each other scary books. Give children scary books they’ll like and can handle. Give adults scary books they’ll enjoy.

And All Hallow’s Read was born.

There are so many ways to do this. Buy a new book, comic or graphic novel. Buy a book from a yard sale, used book store or library. Look through your own collection of books, buy an audio or digital book or find free books on the internet.

Or rummage through your dark, scary attic…if you dare.

You could record yourself reading a book and give the recording and book to someone. Or go to the library, get some scary short stories and record them for a little friend. Maybe, you could create your own scary story. There are so many options.

If you’re not sure what age appropriate books to get, check out the recommendations section on All Hallow’s Read or search some of your favourite book sites.

I know it’s early but my gift to you is the link to the video recordings of Neil Gaiman reading The Graveyard Book. And if you prefer reading your books, here’s a list of free horror tales from Project Gutenberg.

So, how about it. Want to help make this a great tradition?

7 comments

  1. I love this!
    You downloaded the Kindle reader right?
    I think I have your email address, I’ll send you a book, as soon as I figure out just the right book to send.
    (I assume you’ve read all of Neil Gaiman…any other horror authors you like?)

    My first thought is “Something Wicked this way Comes.”
    I loved that book. (Stuart didn’t, but I read it young, he read it older…don’t know if it would make a difference.

    I’ll send some Halloween books to my favorite children. Ah my favorite holiday!!

    (you know, I collect old Vincent Price movies, so you know, I love classic horror) I also went through a severe Stephen King phase.
    I have a few of those…could mail you one…oh, I also have some jewelry supplies for you if you want…email me.

    Did you read Gaiman’s blog about how Barnes and Noble took all of his graphic novels…Including Sandman, off their shelves to protest that Amazon is going to have exclusive e-reader copies for them for their new color version.
    I understand why…but I hope it doesn’t make other’s do the same…how horrible!

    Just read The Endless…not by him….it’s a kid’s book based on Gaiman’s Sandman characters. (the author illustrated some of Sandman). It is so cute. I’m making my own Endless charm bracelet. Got all the charms from Etsy! cost about $12 all together. And Ankh for Death, a Book for Desitny, a heart for Desire, a star for Dream, a sword for Destruction, and I chose a fish for Delirium…because of the floating fish with her all the time in Sandman.

    I’ll take a photo when it’s finished. I’m tickled about it, no one else will understand…but you will!!!

    haunts and horrors
    w

  2. BOO!

    Yes, Kindle is on my computer. I have, I think 5 Gaiman books (2 of them are his short story compilations) and the 4 Absolute Sandman books. I do like reading books with short stories by various authors (my attention span isn’t the greatest at times now) and it’s fun to discover someone new.

    I’m holding off on the jewelry supplies right now. I was getting right into looking at books and websites and had to stop because I knew I would have spent a lot of money and I knew I was going to be buying some stuff anyways. So, those ideas are on hold for the new year after I’ve put some money back in the bank. Budget, blah blah, budget, yuck!

    I think the DC Comics/B&N/Amazon thing is ridiculous and a mistake by all concerned. I understand the marketing aspect of when something new comes out, to have some kind of deal to entice even more people to buy it. If DC wanted to sell the graphic novels at a reduced price for a limited period of time with Amazon when you bought the Kindle Fire, I would say that’s fine, that’s business. But have the graphic novels also available for other devices so that the consumer has a choice.

    It’s also why I haven’t bought any magazines from Amazon. I looked at some magazines to see what it would be like but, if you subscribe to a magazine, Amazon only keeps up to seven issues “for my convenience”. It’s absolutely not convenient if a magazine I bought and want to save gets deleted at some point. I don’t know about other ways to buy digital magazines. I haven’t really looked at different options. Hopefully, they don’t have the same kind of deal because I like to save some magazines for a while. OK, rant over.

    I’d love to see the bracelet. I was starting the 3rd Absolute book. I had to stop because I went through the first two books so quickly and didn’t feel like I enjoyed them as much as I could have if I had taken the time. So I’ll wait for a bit more and I”ll go back and read and enjoy them more slowly and read all the extras that come with the books.

    1. Have you read The Graveyard Book by Gaiman? That’s an amazing book…supposed to be for young adults…or something like that…but I loved it!! One of my favorites of all time.

      there are some short stories by Dan Dillard that are free for the Kindle, they are freaky. Some are better than others, but all make you think…What the..? Out, Damned Spot was the first one I read, and it creeped me out.

      Depending on what type of jewelry making you want to do, I could probably get you started with my stuff. But it can wait, and when you are ready, just tell me what you need. : )

      Still waiting on 3 charms for the bracelet. Funny, some of the charms I found cheaper if I bought multiples at a time, so I’ll have 2 ankhs, 2 stars, and I think 6 swords. The bracelet itself came with a heart locket with a red stone, so I thought that’d work for desire, even though I really wanted a red heart.

      Sending out Elliot and the Goblin War to my friend’s little girl. I hope she likes it as much as I did, and it’s Halloweenish, the beginning starts on Halloween. It was also free on the Kindle…if it isn’t anymore, and you are interested, I can send you a copy.

      happy hauntings.
      w

  3. I didn’t get the book but I listened to it as each video was uploaded to his website. As good as a writer he is, he is just as good as a reader. That is a book that I think would be a great gift for the child to read while listening to him read it.

    And freaky, creepy books are good. Halloween is coming. What better type of book to read.

  4. What a deliciously, ghoulishly fun idea! I’m off to find a copy of “Where the Wild Things Are” to give to my husband — he has moved a framed picture from that book around for years — next time I go to town. Not true scary in the traditional hallowe’en sense, but still has monsters!
    Any suggestions for my neice, an avid reader who prefers books to her kindle, who just turned 12? Don’t want to send anything that’s not age appropriate.
    Thanks for sharing this!

    1. This is such a great idea! My suggestion is to click on the link in the post that takes you to The Graveyard Book videos on Neil Gaiman’s site (which won the 2009 Newbery Medal) and listen to some of the first chapter. This is the book Wendy and I are talking about in the comments. Even though the book is for young readers, I really enjoyed it and if your niece is an avid reader, I think she will enjoy this as well. Gaiman is an wonderfully imaginative writer. I’m very easily caught up in the world he creates. Some of his stories he adds elements of myth and mythical characters. A story can take place in the world that we live in but, I find he writes in a way that makes the story and characters believable.

    2. I was just looking up the age appropriateness of Elliot and the Goblin War by Jennifer Nielsen, because I want to send it to a friend of mine’s daughter. It says 9-12, but I will say, I loved it. It has goblins and brownies….but it’s much more fun than scary.
      It has some lovely drawings. (they even showed them on the Kindle version…that was a great surprise, but I know they’d be better in real life).

      I loved The Graveyard Book, but for some children it may be a bit scary. Probably not by 12, but that would depend on the child. By 12, I was reading Hitchcock (and sneaking to watch horror movies much younger.)…but my sister couldn’t stand anything scary…and still can’t. (I remember she went to a horror flick when she was 16, and slept with the lights on for months….a spooky kid)

      To me the scariest part of The Graveyard Book is probably the beginning, when the bad guy comes and kills his family…it’s not gorey, but that’s scary…the thought that someone would come and just murder your whole family.

      There is actually a study guide that you can get to go along with The Graveyard Book. I saw it yesterday. I’d like to see what it says.
      There are a lot of parts in that book that make you think…really it’s a wonderful book! I’d recommend it to anyone…as long as they aren’t like my sister.

      My cousin’s little girl…when she was a little girl…was obsessed with R.L. Stein (the Goosebumps series) But I think those are silly. But they got her to read! And that’s the important part! She still loves to read and she’s in her twenties now.

      I’m sending out Elliot to my little friend today….now to find something for a 3 year old…

      BTW – love Where the Wild Things Are! In San Francisco, there is a permanent exhibit on the top floor of …I forgot the name of the place…but the whole floor is Maurice Sendak…you can walk through a life size Wild Things adventure…and eat at the Night Kitchen.

      Just read his new children’s book, his first in 30 years. I was bored. Thought it was very silly, and really just didn’t get it. I was sad. Bumble-Ardy’s the name.

      Good luck looking for the best Halloween Book!
      wendy

Leave a Reply

