Sunday Quotes – Arthur Ashe

(Image via aids.harvard.edu)

Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can.

I have tried to keep on with my striving because this is the only hope I have of ever achieving anything worthwhile and lasting.

(Image via findingdulcinea.com)

I keep sailing on in this middle passage. I am sailing into the wind and the dark. But I am doing my best to keep my boat steady and my sails full.

Trust has to be earned, and should come only after the passage of time.

(Image via newworldencyclopedia.org)

You’ve got to get to the stage in life where going for it is more important than winning or losing.

2 comments

  1. Arthur Ashe an inspiration to all.

    A few years ago, I was visiting Richmond, VA and went to see the Arthur Ashe monument. On Monument Avenue. Love where they put it, along side the monuments to confederate soldiers. This was very controversial at the time but I feel it was a great acknowledgement to how far we have come as a nation.

    However, I feel the statue wasn’t really thought out. The statue shows children reaching up to Ashe, and he’s holding a book and a tennis racket….to me, it looked like he was beating the children off with the racket, and perhaps even the book…or trying to keep them from the book…it just wasn’t executed very well. I see what the vision was supposed to be…but it simply doesn’t portray what, I think, the artist was trying to say.

    as always, great quotes to get us thinking.
    w

    1. I had to go take a look at this statue. Sadly, I have to agree with you. I know it’s supposed to represent his love and belief of education and sports but it looks like the kids are in a gimme, gimme position with an adult. Maybe if it had shown him handing books and rackets to children who were standing or his arms guiding some kids with rackets and books in their arms? I don’t know, there seems to be better options. The statue is also smaller than the others on the street. Maybe the artist was told he could only do up to a certain size and he wanted to make sure people from a bit of a distance could see the books and racket? Hard to say as I only had a quick read of a couple of sites.

      If you ever get the chance to read his memoir, Days of Grace, do it. I read it years ago and still remember how the last chapter is a beautifully written letter to his (then) young daughter. Very moving.

Leave a Reply

