NHBPM – What Happens After You Press “Publish”

Image via wikipedia.org)

Today’s post is about what happens after I press “Publish” for a new blog post entry.

I usually have my posts scheduled to publish a little after midnight. I will have already looked at, edited, spell-checked and previewed the post. If I’m up, I may take a look at it again if I’m on the computer. If not, it will wait till later on when I wake up. Yes, I’m one of those people who goes on the computer when they wake up.

If something catches my attention and I want to immediately blog about it, I go through the same routine as my scheduled posts. And even though I’ve already previewed the post, I will still check it again once it’s published.

I do two more things after a post is published. I check the stats page throughout the day to see what search terms are being used, which posts are being viewed and who sent readers my way. Also, I recently installed a map on my blog that shows the locations of people who visit my blog. I’m curious to see where my readers are from and it’s been really interesting to see more dots show up on the map each day.

That’s pretty much it. Once a post has been published, I’m usually done with it.

This post was written as part of NHBPM – 30 health posts in 30 days: http://bit.ly/vU0g9J

2 comments

  1. Where did you find the map widget? I’d love to know where folks were coming from geographically!
    And, congrats on signing up for the #NHBPM 2011! The prompts are always thought-provoking and lead in some interesting directions. I love how each blog personalizes the topic of the day!

    1. Hi,

      I saw the map on another blog. I clicked on it and I went to their site. They have different widgets to chose from. I got it for the same reason you want to and it’s wonderful to see where everyone is from. Here’s the link to their main page:

      http://www.revolvermaps.com/?target=home

      And NHBPM has been, like you said, thought-provoking. I’ve never done something like this before so I’m having fun doing it as well. But ask me again at the end of the month. I’ve got most of the posts for next week done. I want to stay ahead in case I have an off day or two and need to stay away from the computer (and thinking).

Leave a Reply

