NHBPM – 3 Truths And A Lie

(Image via imgfave.com)

Today’s NHBPM prompt is to tell 3 things that are true about you, your condition, your Health Activism, or your life. Now tell us 1 lie.  Happy guessing!

  1. I love living in the city.
  2. I still drive a car. This is the lie.
  3. I got my driver’s license on my first try when I was 16.
  4. I’ve been on a purple binge this year in different items I’ve bought. Now I’m thinking of colouring my hair purple if I can find the right shade.

Are you feeling lucky? Use the comment section to let me know what your guess is. I’ll let you know later.

This post was written as part of NHBPM – 30 health posts in 30 days: http://bit.ly/vU0g9J

9 comments

  1. Would love to see the purple hair!

    Hate to say it, but I think number 2 is the lie.

    Glad you live where you can walk to almost everything. Wish I did, even though I miss driving, I’d love to live somewhere that we didn’t have to drive to get anywhere.

    lovin’ the purple idea.

  2. I love the idea of a purple binge, too. I, like Wendy, think that sadly #2 is the lie.
    My aim is to get my driver’s license by the time I’m 60 (which gives me a few years). I used to know how to drive an automatic, but never got past my beginner’s permit (long story). Although it will make our insurance even more outrageous than it is, and we have to find the money for lessons, I’m going to give it a try again. I get very nervous when I try to drive — like folks who hate flying — palms sweat, etc. I even have nightmares where I’m driving a car, then I realize in my dream I really can’t drive a car like I’m doing, so then I end up in the ditch (which used to happen when I was learning on back roads in the mid 1980s.)

  3. Oh, you guys know me too well. Unless it was a dire emergency, and calling 911 wasn’t an option, I don’t think it’s the best idea to have me behind a wheel. When I had a car, I would love to go for a drive out of the city. I didn’t have to go anywhere specific, it was a mini-getaway, driving past the farms and the fields and the horses and cows. Especially on hot, summer evenings. I loved those times the best.

    1. I know how you feel I loved those days too. When we bought my convertible earlier this year I really thought I’d be able to have more of those days. I had a few, I’m grateful for that. Everywhere we had to go we’d pull out a map and see if there was a back way. A scenic way to get off the highway and enjoy the beauty that surrounds this area. It may have taken a little longer to get to the grocery store, but we loved it.

      Hopefully, I’ll be able to drive again at some point. Right now I hate to even ride in a car. *barf* But I’m sure I’ll be able to at least ride in the car with Stuart driving, now and then.

      But I still envy you the convenience of the city. I live in a pretty urban area, but living down in it, is way too expensive. Or in dangerous areas. Everyone lives out of the city and drives…and drives…I’d be happy not to have a car really. If I could get places without it. We thought about moving to a city that had everything in either walking distance, or mass transit. That’d be a sure way to lessen my carbon footprint! But more jobs are here, and we bought this house. (I often wish we hadn’t. It’s much scarier when your husband gets laid off when you still have to pay a mortgage.)

      Maybe one of these days, if I’m able to drive long distances again, I’ll come up there and take you for a leisure drive in the country with the top down. : ) I can dream can’t I?

      wendy

        1. Woo Hoo, A goal to strive for!!
          (I really need to work on getting my passport!, think I can do it before the summer!)
          I’d love to see more of Canada, I’ve been to Niagra Falls and took a little side trip while there, but I’d love to see more.

          (right now you would NOT want to see me in a bathing suit! But who cares! I love to swim!)

          Now I’m more determined than ever to get better!
          wendy

            1. I tried to put that map on my blog and I can’t get it to work. How’d you do it?

              Remind me, what part of Canada do you live in? Curious, how cold does it get there? Do you have a long freezing winter? Are the summers beautiful? Or does it get too hot and humid…like it sometimes does here. i don’t mind it too hot, but hate the cold. I tell people when they complain about the heat, all I have to do is think about the winter, and I’m fine! : )

              I’d have to have a head to toe cover up to not feel self conscious about my body right now. But I have a while before summer. Hopefully, I can start to be able to move more. And lose some of this. I’m really going backwards on this weight loss promise we made to each other.
              wendy

  4. To add the map, go to the FAQ page. The instructions are there for different blogs.

    I live in central Canada and generally, the summers are hot and humid and the winters are cold but usually not cold, cold -5 to +5 F. January and February can have a couple of weeks where it’s either frigid or it warms up, rains and things start to melt. How things are depends on how the weather systems move. The last few summers have been hot and humid, but mostly bearable. If a weather system moves in and stays, the humidex goes up to the low 40s C during the day and the high 30s overnight (or 110 down to 100). That’s when we get hot and cranky. During the winter we get the tail end of storms from the eastern states. But again, if the weather system moves north enough, we get more snow.

    In other words, we’re in that special spot where every year is a surprise.

    As for that weight loss, it’s been a weird year health-wise for me. A cold that lasted longer than it should have, screwed up sleep, allergies really bad this year, a few instances of vertigo that I normally don’t, brain fog, the list goes on. I haven’t moved or exercised as much this year as I have in previous years and I’m really feeling it now. I think I’ve lost a few pounds but I have also lost enough muscle strength and endurance to notice. I rode the bike the other day for 5 minutes and I felt like I was coming down with a bug the next couple of days, my legs felt so heavy. So, I’m back to just walking and using ankle weights to help build strength.

    Of course, now that I’m blogging each day and on twitter, I’m sitting more. Good and bad, Good because I’m sitting more and not lying around as much. Bad because it affects my ears/balance and I don’t want to get up and move around as much. So, if I watch tv, I’ve started to walk the halls during some of the commercial breaks. Have to get back to a level I was at last year at least.

    Blech, I think I’ll listen to my walkman and walk the halls a bit more.

Leave a Reply

