NHBPM – A Song Dedicated To Me And My Illness

(Image by =altergromit via deviantart.com)

Today’s prompt asks us to dedicate a song to our condition. The song I have chosen is the Russell Watson’s version of Faith of the Heart. I would listen to the song and read the lyrics long before I received a diagnosis. I even played it on the day I received my diagnosis and it still describes how I feel about my journey through the years – the faith and strength that someone needs when living with an invisible chronic illness.

While I feel the whole song describes me and how I feel, there are two parts of the song that I relate to the most. The first two lines –  It’s been a long road Getting from there to here – because it has been a very long road. It took over 5 years before I had a diagnosis.

The second part is:

It’s been a long night
Trying to find my way
Been through the darkness
Now I’ve finally had my day

As anyone with an invisible chronic illness can tell you, many times we have not been believed because others could not see us displaying any symptoms. People think it’s not that bad, we’re not in that much pain, not that tired or we want to get out of doing things. The list is long and varied. It really can be dark times while we are waiting and having countless tests and procedures done. To finally have a diagnosis confirms that we aren’t faking it. Armed with the knowledge of what illness we have, getting a diagnosis also shines a light on the new road we are on and the different ways we will be living our lives.

Here’s my song, I hope you enjoy it and find your own faith and strength from the words.

Faith Of The Heart

It’s been a long road
Getting from there to here
It’s been a long time
But my time is finally near

And I can feel the change in the wind right now
Nothing’s in my way
And they’re not gonna hold me down no more
No they’re not gonna hold me down

‘Cause I’ve got faith of the heart
I’m going where my heart will take me
I’ve got faith to believe
I can do anything
I’ve got strength of the soul
And no one’s gonna bend or break me
I can reach any star
I’ve got faith, I’ve got faith, faith of the heart

It’s been a long night
Trying to find my way
Been through the darkness
Now I’ve finally had my day

And I will see my dream come alive at last
I will touch the sky
And they’re not gonna hold me down no more
No they’re not gonna change my mind

‘Cause I’ve got faith of the heart
I’m going where my heart will take me
I’ve got faith to believe
I can do anything
I’ve got strength of the soul
And no one’s gonna bend or break me
I can reach any star
I’ve got faith, I’ve got faith, faith of the heart

I know that we’re so cold
We’ve seen the darkest days
But now the winds I feel
Are only winds of change
I’ve been through the fire
I’ve been through the rain
But I’ll be flying, oh yeah

‘Cause I’ve got faith of the heart
I’m going where my heart will take me
I’ve got faith to believe
I can do anything
I’ve got strength of the soul
And no one’s gonna bend or break me
I can reach any star
I’ve got faith, I’ve got faith, faith of the heart

It’s been a long road

This post was written as part of NHBPM – 30 health posts in 30 days: http://bit.ly/vU0g9J

4 comments

  1. What a great song to lean on when times are tough! I totally agree that invisibility is hard – after all, everyone has experienced pain, fatigue, weakness and most other symptoms. Even with a diagnosis I still sometimes find myself asking if maybe everyone has days like mine, but I’m just less strong and less able to deal with them.

    Not only do I love your song choice, but I really, really love the picture that you chose to illustrate the post.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Jo
    http://www.everydaywishes.blogspot.com
    @jorawstron

  2. Yes, having and invisible illness is, in different ways, hard. Many people will experience symptoms on a short-term basis but we have them on an ongoing basis. I’ve said many times that I’m glad people don’t understand but I know that there are many people who, like you and me, are dealing with chronic illness and do understand.

    Isn’t that a great picture? It’s from the deviant ART website. There are so many talented people who have posted their work on that site.

      1. I don’t think it’s unselfish of me. It’s more I wouldn’t wish this on anyone. When people are sick for a short term, how they felt and what they dealt with are usually soon forgotten. We don’t have that luxury. Some of what people go through are nightmarish and people shouldn’t have to deal with the symptoms and side effects that they will have for the rest of their lives. Hence, I’m glad they don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

