NHBPM – I’m The Little Engine That Can

(Image via youthareawesome.com)

Today’s prompt is brought to you by the little engine that could! We are to write what we think we can and end the post with things that we know we can.

I think I can… go out for more walks this winter.

I think I can… not let winter and S.A.D. get to me.

I think I can… get my strength and endurance levels back this year (before the colds and flues attack) to what they were this time last year.

I think I can… remember that I can’t control other people.

I think I can… do more exercises, even though I don’t mentally feel like it.

I think I can… give myself more hugs.

I think I can… read more.

I think I can… look out the window more on dreary winter days.

I think I can… spend more time away from the computer,  says the person with a blog and a twitter account  and …

I think I can… remember to have no regrets. We made the what seemed like the best choices at the time.

I think I can… find more guilty pleasures. It will be hard, but I’ll give it my best shot.

I think I can… therefore I know I can.

(Image via fotosearch.com)

I know I can… breathe when the going gets tough.

I know I can… take a nap when necessary. Sometimes they are very necessary.

I know I can… not feel guilty about the way I do things.

I know I can… get my desk cleaned off. Really. It will get done.

I know I can… remind myself that I can only go forward.

This post was written as part of NHBPM – 30 health posts in 30 days: http://bit.ly/vU0g9J

4 comments

    1. Thank you. I’ve never done a monthly challenge. It’s been great, but I’ll be happy when the end of the month comes. I’m going to have to spend some time playing catch-up with blogs I usually read.

  1. I’ve been using pen and paper to record my thoughts, my potential blog posts, emails, comments. Gets me away from the computer!
    Love your list of think I cans and know I cans. The little engine that could was my favourite book as a child. And, to this day, I still do the mantra “I think I can, I think I can.” and sometimes even “I knew I could.”
    Thanks for sharing so much of yourself through this month long exercise. Sorry I don’t get by more often!

    1. HI, good to hear from you.

      It’s so weird. I know the story but I couldn’t tell you if I ever had the book when I was a kid. Maybe my parents got it at the library and read it to me. The earliest books I remember reading were Black Beauty, Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys.

      I’ve been doing the posts ahead of time. This way, on days that I’m not feeling that great, I know that there are posts ready to publish. I only have a few more to do and I’m done. I haven’t been able to read the blogs I usually do or I’ve done only done a quick read. I really, really miss that connection. Been feeling kind of lost because of it. It’s been a fun experience, I wanted to do the whole month but, but I don’t know if I will do this again.

      I’m not a quick writer so, depending on the posts, it’s been time consuming at various times this month. Then I have to step away from the blog and the computer. I don’t know how people can write something each day and keep coming up with new things to say. My hat’s off to them.

Leave a Reply

