Sunday Quotes – Pema Chödrön

Image via pemachodronfoundation.org)

 

“…feelings like disappointment, embarrassment, irritation, resentment, anger, jealousy, and fear, instead of being bad news, are actually very clear moments that teach us where it is that we’re holding back. They teach us to perk up and lean in when we feel we’d rather collapse and back away. They’re like messengers that show us, with terrifying clarity, exactly where we’re stuck. This very moment is the perfect teacher, and, lucky for us, it’s with us wherever we are.”

 

“People get into a heavy-duty sin and guilt trip, feeling that if things are going wrong, that means that they did something bad and they are being punished. That’s not the idea at all. The idea of karma is that you continually get the teachings that you need to open your heart. To the degree that you didn’t understand in the past how to stop protecting your soft spot, how to stop armoring your heart, you’re given this gift of teachings in the form of your life, to give you everything you need to open further.”

 

“Rather than letting our negativity get the better of us, we could acknowledge that right now we feel like a piece of shit and not be squeamish about taking a good look.”

 

“When things are shaky and nothing is working, we might realize that we are on the verge of something. We might realize that this is a very vulnerable and tender place, and that tenderness can go either way. We can shut down and feel resentful or we can touch in on that throbbing quality.”

 

“Once there was a young warrior. Her teacher told her that she had to do battle with fear. She didn’t want to do that. It seemed too aggressive; it was scary; it seemed unfriendly. But the teacher said she had to do it and gave her the instructions for the battle. The day arrived. The student warrior stood on one side, and fear stood on the other. The warrior was feeling very small, and fear was looking big and wrathful. They both had their weapons. The young warrior roused herself and went toward fear, prostrated three times, and asked, “May I have permission to go into battle with you?” Fear said, “Thank you for showing me so much respect that you ask permission.” Then the young warrior said, “How can I defeat you?” Fear replied, “My weapons are that I talk fast, and I get very close to your face. Then you get completely unnerved, and you do whatever I say. If you don’t do what I tell you, I have no power. You can listen to me, and you can have respect for me. You can even be convinced by me. But if you don’t do what I say, I have no power.” In that way, the student warrior learned how to defeat fear. ”

 

 

5 comments

  1. great person to quote.
    I read her book True Happiness, it gave me a great sense of calm at a time I needed it. I loaned it to a friend, I hope he got a lot out of it, because I never saw it again.

    Just saw that she has a book with Alice Walker, I’d like to read that! I saw Alice Walker speak once….an AMAZING woman!

    Strong women…Real women!!

    I’m feeling stronger just by their inspiration.

    1. It’s the only one I’ve read, and it was years ago, so I can’t even remember too many details, but I must have thought highly of it if I loaned/gave it to this particular friend.

      I’ve heard listening to her books that she has recorded are very inspirational.

      Sometimes when i read books like this, I wish I could raise my hand and ask the author questions.

      : )
      as much as I like the How to Be Sick book by Toni Bernhard, there is one thing that bothers me, it’s supposed to be written for anyone, not just Buddhist, but she mentions certain words or phrases that they use, and…she explains what it is interpreted as once, then she uses the Buddhist term throughout the book. OK, I’m a bit dense sometimes, but I’ve gotten lost on what certain terms mean. I have to think…ok, so what is Dukkha…or whatever. Still a great book, I bought it for my Kindle, but they won’t let me loan that one. I really hate that I don’t own the books I buy for that thing. (perhaps that’s whey I’ve only bought 2)

      I vaguely remember feeling that same way when reading Pema’s book….so what did that mean? Should have a glossary. You know I haven’t looked, the How to be Sick book might.

      let me know if you read one and like it.
      I’m checking what we have at our library.
      w

      1. I bought 2 books today. When Things Fall Apart and Start Where You Are. I’ll let you know how they are. The bookstore chain has a daily contest and each time you play you’re entered to win an e-reader and you get a percentage off the price of a book. I got 25% and 35% coupons so I used those today. It will be reading time this winter.

        1. I checked a couple of Kindle books out of the library today. silly reads, paranormal stuff you know. Fluff to read when I can’t sleep…way too often.

          I officially surpassed my goal of reading over 100 books this year! That amazes me…it’s like 2 books a week, but I swear there are times I don’t read much. But then there are times I just fly through them.
          I’m re-reading the Sandman Graphic Novels right now. I made the charm bracelet representing the Endless, I’ll have to take a picture to show you.
          I got most of the charms from Etsy. One I had made, Destiny’s book…it looks wonderful. I would have liked to have made it all from scratch, but it’ll be a while before I’m ready to work with my kiln again.

          do let me know how the books are.
          happy reading.

Leave a Reply

