Here’s To The New Year. May She Be A Damned Sight Better Than The Old One.

(Image via daydreamerwashere.com)

The title of this post is actually part of a New Year’s toast given by Col. Potter in an episode of the TV show M*A*S*H and it describes pretty much how I’m feeling right now.

I’m still here, just have spent very little time on the computer and just haven’t been in the mood for anything requiring much in the way of thoughts and feelings. I got hit with the holiday blues a little before Christmas along with allergies, brain fog and trying to get rid of a cold. So, basically I’ve been hibernating – watching TV show marathons, movies, reading old magazines and not being on the computer that much. But, I promise I’ll get back into a regular routine soon and start catching up on the posts I’ve been missing. It seems I really need a mental break from things for a bit. No pity party, or anything like that – just a break to hibernate for a while.

I also realized today that I missed posting something for Sunday Quotes and New Year’s Eve/Day. Along with the sentiment in the title of the post, here’s a couple more to start off the New Year and I’ll see you soon.

And ye, who have met with Adversity’s blast,
And been bow’d to the earth by its fury;
To whom the Twelve Months, that have recently pass’d
Were as harsh as a prejudiced jury –
Still, fill to the Future! and join in our chime,
The regrets of remembrance to cozen,
And having obtained a New Trial of Time,
Shout in hopes of a kindlier dozen.

Thomas Hood

We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched.  Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives… not looking for flaws, but for potential. 

Ellen Goodman

4 comments

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been feeling the holdiay blues. Having my own mental health crisis, I haven’t been as good as I should about checking up on other folks. Sorry that I haven’t been by much of late.
    I love the pug picture, and your quotes.
    Wishing you a 2012 full of sunshine, serendipity, whimsy, wonder, and feeling better.

    1. Really no need to apologize. Just as in real life, I think many of us need to also step away from the computer. I also think it can be worse at this time of year for many of us when we’re all supposed to be filled with holiday cheer.

      I’ve been OK for the last few years – I was getting S.A.D. in the winter and have officially been diagnosed with situational depression – but getting on disability a few years ago has helped ease a lot of stress. Now, if I feel sad for a day all I need is a good night’s sleep but not this time. I’ll see what happens. I’ve never done anything like pills but what I have to do is make sure I get up and do things like clean, exercise, go for a quick walk, some type of moving around. Not doing anything on a regular basis holds me back. That, and the middle of February is when I originally got sick so that can affect me as well.

      So, here’s to 2012 and may she bring us some help, some relief and some happiness.

      1. Sometimes, even with situational depression, medication can be a useful tool. I’m not one to push meds — heck, every time I try to take less, I seem to end up taking more — but having chronic depression myself, and seeing how situational depression can be very isolating, an energy-vampire, and make you feel just plain sad and bad, I’ve suggested meds to folks in situtional depressions before. Doesn’t mean you’ll be on them forever, maybe just for a while.
        As you no doubt already do, do your research. Certain ones are harder to come off when you don’t need them, others have unwanted/more side effects.
        Hope you are feeling better soon — no matter whether its cleaning, walking, talking (you’ve always have my ear: phylorsblog@ymail.com), or whatever that helps you.
        Knowing that your illness anniversary is coming up can’t help! Take good care, and if you want to chat, just let me know.

        1. I’ve considered meds, but it hasn’t affected me the last 2 or 3 years. This year I added vitamin D to the mix as it’s also supposed to help with colds. I am thinking of getting one of those lights to help with S.A.D. I’m looking at the cap with the lights in it. I can wear it first thing in the morning when having breakfast and seeing what’s happening in the world.

          Our weather has been so weird this year, I think that is playing a part. We almost had a green Christmas but it started to snow late on Christmas Eve and I actually woke up to a white Christmas. However, the temps are behaving like a roller coaster. They keep going up and down, -10 or -15 C. and then back up to or above the freezing mark and back down and up…

          Thanks for the offer to chat. I always know that you guys are around and it’s appreciated.

Leave a Reply

