Sunday Quotes – Spring

(Image via weheartit.com)

Yesterday the twig was brown and bare;
To-day the glint of green is there;
Tomorrow will be leaflets spare;
I know no thing so wondrous fair,
No miracle so strangely rare.
I wonder what will next be there!

L.H. Bailey

(Image via johannahope.wordpress.com)

I love spring anywhere, but if I could choose I would always greet it in a garden. 

Ruth Stout

(Image via bloggingmollyr.blogspot.ca)

Every spring is the only spring – a perpetual astonishment.

Ellis Peters

Science has never drummed up quite as effective a tranquilizing agent as a sunny spring day.

W. Earl Hall

4 comments

  1. Now you know, those last two pictures, at least in this hemisphere, are summer flowers….pressing into fall.
    HAHAHAHAHA
    Like I’m a horticulturalist. (that is what they are called right)

    But them is mighty purty culurs mam!
    I like ’em a lot.

    OK it’s late, and I need to let this medication start to work….oh wait, I think it already is! hahahaha

    It rained last night and this morning, this afternoon we walked out our front door and many of my herb pots and some of my old flower bed is green! We were astounded. We haven’t cut back the dead parts yet and cleaned things up, added new seed or added any new compost.
    But there’s all this life coming up! It’s amazing!
    I have plenty of Bee Balm already 5″ tall, and the mints are thriving. I’m thrilled. I do need to replace a few things. But I’m tickled, some things that shouldn’t have come back, did. Now if I just felt like getting in there and working with it, and then using them.

    Pollen is everywhere…yes, spring is here!
    w

    1. Well, the last 2 pictures were colourful but had to take them out because of using too much bandwidth on their end. And dummy me just deletes them before I go to bed without getting the address (they were wallpaper images) so I could go back and download them. Sleepy but couldn’t fall asleep until 3.

      The tulips and tiger lillies started shooting up this past week but not sure what will happen because the temperatures cooled off and will be below freezing tonight and tomorrow. We’ll see, I’m sure they’ll hibernate for a bit and start growing again.

      Because all the snow seemed to have melted in a week, we have snow mold and mold from the leaves that were left on ground last fall. We haven’t even started with the pollen yet. I’m sure it will be a joyous time, me and my ears look forward to the annual rite of spring.

      1. Everything is yellow here. I have a yellow car…great! But with a black cloth top….not any more.
        It did rain…much better now. But the back of the top looks like a yellow drip painting on a black canvas.
        at least it did yesterday, I can’t get up today.

        tiger lilies? wow, they are later bloomers here. We have tulips, irises, and easter lilies…well I haven’t seen those but they should be blooming…I don’t really like them. And Wisteria is EVERYWHERE! Do not breathe deep you can probably smell it all the way in Canada!

        HappySpring.

  2. Thanks for reminding me it’s officially spring! We’ve had such crazy, warm weather with croces, daffadils and wysteria in full bloom. Today is more realistic with temps. reflecting that it’s march not April or May!

Leave a Reply

