HAWMC: Health Haiku – My Chronic Illness

(Image via studenthacks.org)

chronic illness

trapped in a body

doesn’t work as before

◊◊◊

illnesses not wanted

brings so many life changes

makes my world spin

◊◊◊

it’s all in your head

of course it’s all in my head

that’s where my ears are

◊◊◊

so many like me

fighting their own battles

a war they won’t win

◊◊◊

eyes are watching

waiting for me to slip

catch me in a lie

◊◊◊

they’ll wait a long time

chronic illness does not care

it has found a home

◊◊◊

I look at others

I see fear they see battles

they may one day fight

◊◊◊

some understand many

do not get well now they say

if it were so easy

◊◊◊

relentless illness

does not give up the battle

fighting to the end

◊◊◊

tear drops swollen eyes

images of a life gone

never to return

◊◊◊

I weep for what was

for what might have been

 for what will come

◊◊◊

I had the dream again

I was healthy I had no fear

I was free again

6 comments

  1. Very moving.
    and I have that dream too.
    I’m never ill in my dreams come to think about it…never.

    you are very talented…let no one tell you differently.

    1. Well, that was weird. I had to approve your message. Your email showed up with two letters transposed. Or have you changed things up a bit?

      I’d love to have dreams where I’m not sick, but those are becoming rarer and rarer. Even if I’m still doing a lot in the dreams, I’m still having to watch how much I do. I can’t escape in my dreams. Day dreams…yes, thankfully.

  2. Wow, these haikus are very powerful, and provide insights into what you have to deal with daily in terms of your chronic health issues!

Leave a Reply

