HAWMC: My Word Cloud

Today is the last day for April’s HAWMC prompts and our challenge was to make a word cloud using the website Wordle. I chose to do my word cloud using words to describe how my vestibular disorder affects me physically and mentally as well as a few of the things I have lost.

It was great the way it turned out. If you click on the image so that it opens in a new window and you look at it for a few moments, hopefully you get a bit of the 3-D effect I saw. That effect represents the very off-balance way of life for me now as does the layout of the words, which Wordle calls “any which way”. Some days, depending on how my ears are behaving, any which way is exactly how I feel I could end up if I move around too much.

Here’s a list of the words I used. They include what has happened to me, the 5 stages of grief that I and many people with chronic illnesses go through, how I feel some days and some hope with the words healing and humour.

 

Ears
Balance
Vertigo
Disequilibrium
Bobbing
Invisible-chronic-illness
Chronic-illness
Vestibular-disorder
Sunshine
Chaos
Off-balance
Spinning
Loss-of-independence
Loss-of-job
Loss-of-stability
Limbo
Disability
Loneliness
Anger
Grief
Acceptance
Bargaining
Denial
Brain-fog
Stress
Healing
Humour

6 comments

  1. I’m late getting here, but I’m glad I finally arrived. What a great way to visually state how you feel about your chronic illness! I’m going to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

