Sunday Quotes: Grief

(Image via tolkienquotes.tumblr.com)

When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.

Kahlil Gibran

Grieving is a necessary passage and a difficult transition to finally letting go of sorrow – it is not a permanent rest stop.

Dodinski

There are things that we don’t want to happen but have to accept, things we don’t want to know but have to learn, and people we can’t live without but have to let go.

Author Unknown

We have to believe that even the briefest of human connections can heal. Otherwise, life is unbearable.

Agate Nesaule

Can I see another’s woe, and not be in sorrow too? Can I see another’s grief, and not seek for kind relief?

William Blake

4 comments

  1. “There are things that we don’t want to happen but have to accept, things we don’t want to know but have to learn, and people we can’t live without but have to let go” — this really sums up how we can grieve many things, not just the death of someone.
    My heart goes out to that community of Aurora, CO; it’s such a sorrowful event.

  2. Grief stays with me much longer than I’d like to admit. I do not like the thought that I feel sorrow for those who gave me so much joy and delight. It’s so hard to move on. There are days I think I should never love, then I’d never feel this pain. But I can’t help it. I love so freely, so deeply.
    Are those who give their heart and love on such a scale more likely to grieve and be in pain longer?

    Oh, what a philosophical journey here. One can never compare their grief to another’s. We cannot understand what another’s heart feels. But when I see someone in pain, I cannot help but feel some of their pain, and ache because I cannot make it better.
    I feel bad for those who see me, and ache because they cannot make it better.

    I’m so sorry for all who are grieving at this moment, I would take it away if I could.

    (yes, I’ve been having a big Sandy moment today)
    love and hugs

    1. I think, for most of us, it’s human nature to try to understand what the other person is feeling. You can’t understand the depth of grief someone may or may not have, but everyone has gone through it.

      And then, with 24 hour news channels, we see what is going on in different parts of the world. At times my heart breaks and at others, it seems like I’m being de-sensitized to what is happening. But, I blame that on news being available 24/7 and the images that we are shown repeatedly. And I think I’ll jump off the soap box before I get started.

      Sorry to hear about the big Sandy moment. Love and hugs right back at you.

Leave a Reply

