Beyoncé Needs Your Help For World Humanitarian Day

(Image via rap-up.com)

August 19th of each year is World Humanitarian Day. This is from their about page.

Every year on August 19th, World Humanitarian Day recognizes those who face danger and adversity to help others. August 19th is the anniversary of the 2003 bombing of the United Nations headquarters in Baghdad, Iraq, which killed 22 people.

We honor those who have made the ultimate sacrifice, and we pay tribute to those who continue to help people around the world, regardless of who they are and where they are.

Every day we see and hear images and stories of pain and suffering in our own neighborhoods and in countries far away. But we also find acts of kindness, great and small. World Humanitarian Day is a global celebration of people helping people.

All that is being asked is that we do one thing for another human being. What kind of things?

  • HELP SOMEONE WITH THEIR SHOPPING
  • MAKE A HOMELESS PERSON A SANDWICH
  • DONATE YOUR SKILLS TO A COMMUNITY PROJECT
  • STAND UP FOR SOMEONE BEING PICKED ON
  • VISIT AN ELDERLY PERSON
  • COOK A MEAL FOR A NEW MUM
  • COMFORT SOMEONE IN HOSPITAL
  • VOLUNTEER AT A LOCAL CHARITY
  • GIVE AWAY SOMETHING YOU DON’T USE
  • MOW YOUR NEIGHBOUR’S LAWN
  • TUTOR A DISADVANTAGED YOUNG PERSON
  • CLEAN UP YOUR LOCAL PARK

If you would like to help spread the message via Twitter and Facebook on August 19th, go to Thunderclap.it. They will send a message to your followers on your behalf.

3 comments

  1. I’m really sorry I missed this one — shows how much I pay attention to social and regular media!
    I’ll have to sit down and write a belated piece on small and large kindnesses. When I finally blog about my very strange day, it’s not me who did the kindnesses, I was the recipient of 99.9% of– tomorrow regardless of the thank yous I gotta send out, I need to pay the kindness forward. Just not used to being on the receiving end, and it can be kinda overwhelming!
    Glad you tweeted and posted and drew this really important, more than just one day need to think about event to my attention.
    Thanks! And, by the way, I’ve entered you in the 5 x 5 contest, if you don’t mind, by way of you dropping by and leaving a comment. If you’d rather not be in the running for one of 5 fabulous prize packages (not worry, no expense has been incurred in creating these packages even after donating four+ boxes of craft stuff to an art therapy program at a local woman’s shelter, I still have some crafty, nicknacky, tacky gifts to give out!) just let me know and I’ll take your name out of the hat.
    Take good care!

    1. Please don’t apologize. The weather has been beautiful lately so I’ve been going out more. Strange how disconnected I feel some days, being away from the computer, but I know that the cooler weather will be here soon enough. It’s August 21st already! Where did summer go?

      It can be overwhelming to get help and kindness. I heard so often when I was growing up, that it’s better to give, not receive. But, something I read a long time ago that may help is “We give and we are given to, and it’s an honour to do both.”

      And, please, leave me in for one of 5 fabulous prize packages! One of the places I’ve been to a couple of times this summer is the local art supply store. I’m slowly stocking up on different things for this winter so it’s all good. I wish I had a craft store I could easily get to as well, though my budget probably appreciates that there isn’t one close by.

      And thank you for entering my name. The red preemie knit hat I did on the loom earlier this year is on the little teddy bear you sent me. I keep it on my desk so I’ll have to send you a picture. But not of the desk. That’s still a mess. 🙂

      1. That’s sweet about the bear and the hat. Doesn’t matter if the desk is messy — my entire house is messy!
        I get ALL of my craft stuff from the dollar stores. There aren’t any craft stores within easy bus, train, or walking distance and in my mother’s town, the 2 dollar type stores had great beads, and other neat crafty things.
        There was a small scrapbooking store near my mother’s house that I had to limit my visits to the final sale bin other wise, I could easily go nuts!
        One of the folks I’ve met in cyberspace, Emily Ruth of chronically creative is very crafty and I think she landed a part time job in a craft store. I’d never have any take home pay.
        When we downsized in 2006, I lost my craft space, but not my spending time and money planning projects I’d probably never due (for a long list of reasons). So, I went thru stuff, boxed it up (I’ve probably told you before — my mind is like a seive with large holes these days )– and gave 4 boxes to an art therapy program at a local woman’s shelter. I need to thin down some more so the local boys and girls club will be the place I approach next. I figure if I’ll never make the craft, I should pass along the stuff to someone who will.
        Enjoy the outside while you can — hard to believe how fast this summer has run by!

Leave a Reply

