NHBPM – What Is In My Purse

Welcome. This post is part of the WEGO Health National Health Blog Post Month (NHBPM) challenge for November, 2012.

(Image via huffingtonpost.com)

No, that is not my purse. I can’t imagine using that unless… no, can’t imagine using that. Actually, I rarely use a purse. If it’s important to me, it’s in my pockets. What is in my pockets is:

  • money
  • ID
  • keys
  • cell phone
  • sometimes my Walkman

That’s it. When I do use a purse, I’m usually going somewhere specific like a doctor’s appointment. I pack a little survivor bag which usually includes::

  • papers to appointments
  • a couple of bottles of water
  • a snack like a muffin
  • cooling packs for when I start getting hot

Really, I carry a purse for the cooling packs.The important things I still keep in my pockets. If I start getting dizzy, anxiety sometimes kicks in and I start feeling hot. At worst, I may feel light-headed.

And as a bonus while living with dizziness, I also got to live with peri-menopause. Nothing like getting hot from dizziness and a hot flash at the same time.

Cold packs. Sometimes a girls best friend.

4 comments

  1. I hate to carry a purse too! In my jean pockets are keys, mints, ID and credit card. If I need to carry meds or shots I will carry one, but like you I rarely do. Oh, and always a cold water or Diet Pepsi in the purse!

    Mo

  2. I use a small back pack as my purse. (Purses hurt my neck as I wear the strap across.) I have a “check” list before I go out. If I’m going to be gone for a while, have “stuff” to bring along (besides my checklist), I take my cart (sorta a back pack on wheels).
    I have several parts of pants that don’t have pockets, and I’ve never really been a “pocket” person — I tend to lose things out of them.
    The picture makes the purse look like an article of clothing like a skirt.

  3. Before I leave, I always go through my check list too. My hands checking what’s in my pockets. If I go to the grocery store, start feeling dizzy and realize I forget my walkman, I’m cursing myself. Listening to music helps calm me and gives me something to focus on. And the store is only a 5 minute walk from home. Sometimes places so close can be so far away.

Leave a Reply

