NHBPM – Taking The High Road

Welcome. This post is part of the WEGO Health National Health Blog Post Month (NHBPM) challenge for November, 2012.

(Image via allthingsd.com)

We’ve all taken the high road. Many times. And we usually feel good about it.

There have also been times that we’ve taken the not-so-high road. And, let’s be honest, it sometimes feels good. But, usually it doesn’t.

The most recent time I took the high road, I was grocery shopping. In Canada, our Thanksgiving is in October. I was doing last minute shopping and stopped at one of the small rectangular-shaped coolers that are put in the middle of aisles. I wanted to check out one of the meat products that was on sale.

The store had put a temporary promotional stand for stuffing on the one side because the cooler also had some turkeys that were on sale. As I moved to an open spot, a shopping cart was put in my way. I couldn’t reach in the cooler to check out the meat. I asked for the shopping cart to be moved so I could for the packages and her curt reply was “I’m shopping here!”.

The other shopper was, what I would have said as a youngster, an old biddy. However, now that I’ve grown up, I realize that there could be many things that may cause someone to react in a not so friendly way. She may be lonely, depressed, angry, in a bad mood, in pain… any number of things. And she’s shopping on a long weekend where families all over the country are getting together to be thankful. She really didn’t look like she was thankful to be at the store.

So, instead of being negative, I calmly said “We’re all shopping in here. We won’t be in the store long, let’s all just be kind to one another while we’re here.”. She glared at me and moved her cart. Except for the couple of people with us at the cooler, the other people around us in the meat section didn’t know what was going on.

We went about our shopping and I left the store having stayed calm and remembering that we don’t know the struggles of other people unless we walk in their shoes.

2 comments

  1. You are so right that taking the high road isn’t always easy. And shopping seems to bring out the worst in people — especially grocery stores. Whenever there is a holiday, folks go even crazier.
    You handled the situation well, and maybe some day the recipient of your patience will do the same for someone else.

    1. I don’t know what’s in the air at my grocery store lately. People seem oblivious to where they are standing or leaving the carts in the middle of the aisle.

      But, people have been pretty good about moving out of the way. Again, there must be something in the air to keep people calmer. Maybe it’s an experiment for the holiday season.

Leave a Reply

