NHBPM – My Favourite Twitter Users

Welcome. This post is part of the WEGO Health National Health Blog Post Month (NHBPM) challenge for November, 2012.

(Image via interviewangel.com)

I’m not an active Twitter user. I sometimes respond to someone but I use Twitter for entertainment and information. Some that I follow are funny with a warped sense of humour (The Batman, someecards), favourite authors and bloggers (The Bloggess, Neil Gaiman), some are inspiring such as Xeni Jardin (live tweeted her breast exam where she discovered she had breast cancer and continues to tweet about her experiences) and Amanda Palmer (will ask a question and have some insightful conversations with her followers) and some are I just find interesting (Weird History, TED News).

So, in no particular order, these are some of my favourites.

The Batman ‏ @God_Damn_Batman

The hero Twitter deserves, but not the one it needs. So you’ll follow him. Because he can take it. GDB@batcomputer.net

Team Twaggies ‏ @twaggies

The Web’s funniest tweets, illustrated into even funnier comics. Have a funny tweet? Send it to us!

TheBloggess ‏ @TheBloggess

I have friends in spite of myself.

Neil Gaiman ‏ @neilhimself

will eventually grow up and get a real job. Until then, will keep making things up and writing them down.

Wil Wheaton ‏ @wilw

I’m just this guy, you know?

Maria Popova ‏ @brainpicker

Interestingness hunter-gatherer obsessed with combinatorial creativity. Editor of @brainpickings & @explorer. Bylines for @wireduk & @theatlantic. MIT Fellow.

TED News ‏ @TEDNews

ALL the news from #TED: TEDTalks, TED Conferences, the TED Prize and more.

Amanda Palmer ‏ @amandapalmer

amateur musician. professional party thrower.

Xeni Jardin ‏ @xeni

@boingboing, journalist. Breast cancer isn’t something I have, but something my body is doing. I tweet about this & all that my mind is doing. xeni@xeni.net

someecards ‏ @someecards

Welcome to the Twitter feed of somewhat acclaimed humor sites, Someecards, HappyPlace, and Jockular. You’ll love not unfollowing us!

Miles O’Brien ‏ @milesobrien

Science, technology, aviation and space journalist.

maureenjohnson ‏ @maureenjohnson

There’s a fine line between good eye contact and the piercing stare of a psychopath. Maureen is on the wrong side of it. – a fan

Weird History ‏ @historyweird

Oddities, weirdities, crudities and dross from the past. All tweets taken from primary sources. Sponsored by Alpha History.

Neil deGrasse Tyson ‏ @neiltyson

Astrophysicist, American Museum of Natural History. Author: Space Chronicle, The Pluto Files,. Host: StarTalk Radio http://StarTalkRadio.net

4 comments

  1. I’m not a tweeter person. With no smart phone, I have to follow on the computer, and it all goes too fast for me, I’m afraid.
    I find it hard to express myself in 142 characters — guess that proves I talk too much, lol.
    If I ever do become tweeterified, your list would be a great starting point.

    1. I can spend 5 minutes trying to word a tweet so that it makes sense. Part of the reason why I don’t tweet that much.

      And I seem to be keeping up to you as you comment. Timing is everything. We were supposed to go to a coffee shop this afternoon but I did a bit of cleaning and my legs have been achy all afternoon so now I’m on the computer for a bit. I think we’re just going for a quick walk to the corner store later, just to say we were outside.

Leave a Reply

