NHBPM – Write About Your Favorite Thing That Is Not Health-related But Likely Improves Your Life

Welcome. This post is part of the WEGO Health National Health Blog Post Month (NHBPM) challenge for November, 2012.

(Image via bestbuy.ca)

That is my microwave. I know, it’s only a small appliance, but for years I have said that a microwave is one of the best things I have ever purchased. It has been a great appliance over the years, giving me the great combination of convenience and being a time saver. But, I never knew how wonderful and helpful a microwave could be until chronic illness became part of my life.

When there are days that I don’t have the energy to stand in front of a stove and cook something decent to eat, the microwave is something that absolutely improves my life. I do batch cooking so there is always food such as chicken meat loaf, roasted potatoes and carrots, and frozen peas and corn in my freezer. On my really crappy days, I can still make myself a healthy meal. I’m able to sit or lie down while waiting for my meal to heat up and I’m not standing in front of a hot stove or in a hot kitchen on a day when I’m feeling dizzy and hot.

The microwave is not a health-related item, but it definitely makes things so much easier when I’m feeling woozy and I’m able to have a healthy meal in only a few minutes.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

