NHBPM – Make A Playlist For Your Health Community

Welcome. This post is part of the WEGO Health National Health Blog Post Month (NHBPM) challenge for November, 2012.

I enjoy different music. But, I can get dizzy at the drop of a hat. Figuratively and literally. So, while I would like to go out dancing and losing myself in the music, it’s not the safest activity for me to do. I can and do bop in my chair or in my bed when lying down. Hey, if you can do exercises in bed, you can dance in bed too!

But, music isn’t just for dancing. There are so many emotions involved with music that touches the heart and soul. They help us through good times and bad. Sometimes, you can’t explain why songs affect us they way they do, they just do. I couldn’t think of songs for a playlist specifically for my illness. But, we also know how healing music can be.

So, for my dizzy darlings, here’s some songs that help me through the good and bad times.

Happy songs.

Sometimes I don’t know what kind of songs I want to listen to, but I want variety. There are a lot of free internet music sites. One that I go to is tropicalglen.com. On this site, you are given choices by year (1950 – 1989) and an online jukebox will start playing. You can let the music play or you can scroll through and pick what you want to hear. There are also a number of jukeboxes for different genres of music such as blues, disco, Motown, show tunes and MTV era. Remember when the “M” meant music was played most of the time?

(NSFW) I LOL at this song, Are You F*cking Kidding Me? (Facebook Song) by Kate Miller-Heidke. Some people just need to stay in the past.

Calming songs

I love listening to these instrumentals. They calm me down and sometimes I listen to them to fall asleep. One night I was in the mood for film noir songs and went searching. What did we do before YouTube? Prowler is by German ambient/jazz band Bohren & der Club of Gore.

This song is from the video game L.A. Noire and is the Main Theme by composer Andrew Hale.

Reflective songs

Sometimes songs just get to me for different reasons and get me in a reflective mood such as Moments by Emerson Drive,

and Hallelujuh by k.d. lang.

Nostalgic songs

There are days I want to go back in time, when chronic illness wasn’t even a thought. When I had my car and needed to get away from it all, I would drive outside the city limits listening to Hollywood Nights by Bob Seger. I just had to be careful because the longer I listened to the song, the faster I went.

For a while, one of the songs that was played to get people dancing was Spirit in the Sky by Norman Greenbaum. It was the unspoken signal for all of us to start dancing.

Happy listening.

3 comments

  1. The way k.d. lang sang Hallelujuh at the openning of the winter Olympic games is one of the most powerful performances I have ever seen. To be there in person must have been amazing.
    I’ll check out the songs on your playlist. Not now as it’s 3:40 am and I don’t know where my headphones are, lol.

    1. I never saw her at the Olympics. I was watching it but got distracted by something else for a bit. I’ll have to check it out. This one is from the Juno Awards when they honoured Leonard Cohen.

Leave a Reply

