NHBPM – Advice For New Research Doctors About The Common Cold

Welcome. This post is part of the WEGO Health National Health Blog Post Month (NHBPM) challenge for November, 2012.

RESEARCH DOCTORS! I’m looking at you! Yes, you! In your white lab coats surrounded by test tubes, microscopes and petri dishes.

Why haven’t you announced the cure for the common cold yet? I know you have discovered it. I just know it. But, do you know how it affects me? Let me tell you.

I have a chronic illness. One that affects my ears and my balance. At the moment, I also have a cold.

This is not good.

Having a cold amplifies the symptoms of an already shaky equilibrium system. It’s way too easy for me to stagger when I go for a walk. It’s worse when I have a cold. I don’t like looking like I’m drunk, wandering from one side of the sidewalk to the other. You know why? People think I’m drunk. I look too young to have a chronic illness. Because people think chronic illnesses only happen when you are older, they think I must be drunk. It’s not right and it’s not fair, but it happens.

That and the safety issue of losing my balance and going into oncoming traffic on a busy downtown street. Not something I want to have happen.

When my world wants to wobble, I need to lie down. It’s hard enough to get more strength and stamina when the body doesn’t want to cooperate. It’s worse when a cold sends you back to bed. It now takes longer to get rid of a cold than in my younger days. I already have days with brain fog. I don’t need grogginess on top of brain fog because of a common cold.

I don’t like this feeling.

Especially when I think of all the money that has been raised from all the different cough medicines throughout the years. I get it, though. Pharmaceuticals like easy money.  It’s the same as cigarettes. They’re not banned because governments love the revenue from the cigarette taxes too much.

Cha-ching! Cha-ching!

So, I understand why you don’t want to admit that a cure has been discovered. Everybody gets a cold, everybody buys cold medicine. It’s a booming industry.

But, I’m here to tell you something.

GET OVER IT!

We are dealing with enough crap each day, we don’t need extra health baggage. We don’t need more time lying in bed. We don’t need more trips to the pharmacies, doctors offices and hospitals. We don’t need extra illnesses like pneumonia and bronchial infections. We don’t need to have extra flare-ups and more aches, pain and fatigue on top what we are already living with.

We don’t need the extra stress on our bodies that fighting a common cold brings.

We need you to turn your attention to chronic illnesses and finding their causes and, optimistically, their cures.

Those of us with chronic illnesses are depending on you to make the quality of our daily lives so much better.

8 comments

  1. Agreed.
    So sorry you have a cold. I wash my hands like Lady McBeth all winter, keep a bottle of hand wash in the waiting room of my office, walk the other way in a store if I hear a sneeze. It’s impossible of course to avoid germs and I feel crazed for doing all this. I can not begin to imagine having a cold or flu with your condition, it’s bad enough with mine but I don’t have balance problems.
    It would almost make me start drinking if everyone thinks I’m doing it anyway.

    1. It’s the strangest thing. it seems once the cold virus gets in this house, someone always has it. And each time it goes to the next person, it evolves just enough to ensure it’s survival until the warmer weather comes. And for the last few years, I would go to the doctor’s office and I talk with his secretary while I’m waiting. Each year it seems that the colds are harder to get rid of and they are lasting longer.

      It is almost enough to make me drink.

  2. You have another cold? Damn girl! I’m sure there is a cure somewhere, but you are so right…they make much more money on the medications to make you feel better…as if they do. Remember that cold I caught a while back…like months ago? I still have the cough..the phlegm, do the meds make me feel better? not much, do I still buy them, yep. I always hope. I found cough drops that helped, but soon found out….well really not soon,, I’ve been living with it for a long time…they are causing GI problems. You do not want to smell my bedroom! : )
    So come on guys….give us the cure. I also think they will with hold the cure for diseases they can “manage” with medication. Why give us a cure, when they are making so much money, managing those diseases.

    You’ve done such a good job this month. how is your sanity?
    sorry I haven’t been around more to cheer you on!
    I’m proud of you, and you are awesome.

    1. Long live the baby boomers… till our usefulness dies out with us. I keep saying that we’re being used as guinea pigs for all the diseases and testing and after most of us die, the miracle cures will start coming out and our generation will be thanked.

      I’m also convinced I only get 3 or 4 colds a year, but the bug stays for a few days, goes into hibernation, comes out, hibernates, etc. This is the 3rd go round this past month. They just don’t want to give up the fight. I don’t know what happened. It wasn’t like this a few years ago. I’d get a cold and it would go away in a week or so. Now, everyone talks about how they don’t go away for weeks.

      And thank you (re: NHBPM). I still have my sanity. I paced myself this year, started when I got the list of prompts and did a lot of the easy ones first. That gave me time to recharge, (have a recurring cold, ugh!) and work on the longer ones or ones that required more thought from me.

      Now, I just have to play catch-up like I normally do because I step away from blogs and blogging afterwards. As long as the cough meds and brain fog doesn’t kick in too much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

