Why The Hell Not!

LILAC TREE 2014

Why The Hell Not!  are  posts  I’m going to do from time to time to remind, not only those of us with chronic illnesses, but for all of us to do something for ourselves.  Something you may not have thought of doing or something you have wanted to do for a long time. Nothing is too silly or frivolous. The time to do something for yourself is now because…why the hell not!

Take a Walk on the Wild Side and

Discover Some Treasures

 

Even if the wild side is your neighbourhood, you never know what you will find. Like so many of us with chronic illnesses, my days of going for long walks are now over. My neighbourhood is where my adventures and discoveries now take place and where I look for whatever treasures I can find.

Lilacs are my favourite and the lilac tree in the picture is only a few doors away. When the wind is blowing in the right direction, I can smell it at home. I know the picture is not the greatest, I took it quickly with my phone, but the scent is heavenly when it’s in full bloom. When I go to the store, I will stand under the tree and just breathe.

Allergy companies love me for that.

But I don’t care. I do the same thing each year, taking a few moments to stop and enjoy the treasure. It was a long winter and the blooms will be gone soon enough so I enjoy them while I can.

 

8 comments

  1. Lilacs are lovely! I haven’t found any here. My replacement blooming tree — magnolias! I never thought they would grow this far north! I was so surprised and excited my first spring here!

    1. I don’t think I’ve ever seen magnolias except in pictures. Do they have a scent? I always thought they were more of a southern climate type of tree. Love that it’s growing for you.

      1. Do Magnolias have a scent? Oh my Goodness Gracious Yes!! The most Sweetest Perfumiest and in my opinion sickliest scent on earth. I can’t stand them. and they are EVERYWHERE HERE. Can’t breathe!
        Funny thing….had my engagement photo taken in one. Yep…me, Stuart , and Sandy sitting in a Magnolia tree. They grow HUGE Here, the blooms are as big as my head. I wonder if I could send you one. It smells like fake perfume scent. If you get just a tiny wiff of it, it’s not that bad, but the trees grow so big and the blooms…darling it’s crazy.

        Wisteria, beautiful…lovely purple….in small amounts pretty scent….kind of….but really way too sweet of a smell to me too. It’s wild and it will kill trees but it’s so pretty, hangs like grapes, delicate little bunches of flowers.

        Lilacs…I don’t know that I’ve ever seen them. But the tree is lovely. I wonder if the scent would be too much for me. I have such a sensitive nose, and it’s much worse since i lost my hearing, really it is!

        But I agree…take a walk on the Wild side…even if it’s in my own back yard…where the bunnies are starting to venture out of the nest.

        (I can hear you now….So Wendy, tell me how you really feel about Magnolias)

        1. Well, you know, us women-folk are encouraged to form opinions from time to time. And, really, plants and flowers are the perfect (and safe) fertile ground to form opinions. 😉

          (see what I did there? plants, fertile ground? I’ll stop now)

          The lilacs have a lovely scent, not sickly sweet or overbearing and when it blows in the wind it’s a gentle scent.. Not strong or overpowering at all.

          The bunnies are starting to get adventurous! We have a bunny and a raccoon that hang out in the ‘hood during the summer. Sometimes you see mommy raccoon and her babies going for a late evening walk. We have 2 rivers, creeks/ravines and lots wilderness, parks and cottage country around the city. Yesterday a black bear was wandering around the outskirts of town. I’ve seen a fox, moose like to travel along the rivers and end up in the city.

          Coyotes are sometimes a problem. And so is the provincial department you’re supposed to call when you see wildlife. The cops were forced to shoot a couple of moose because they got to the city, were scared and the cops were afraid they would get onto a major street and cause accidents. No one from the province wanted to come and take care of it but after all the bad media, they suddenly found a better way to help the cops.

          1. why yes there should have been a better way.
            We are empty nesters now…the bunnies have left and are in the woods.
            I think Stuart has a mixed feeling of pride and sorrow.
            I know he was a bit sad to go out and see they were not back in the nest, but also happy he got to see them leave.
            He has such a kind heart, especially where animals are concerned.

Leave a Reply

