ABCs of Disability – The Letter E

Image via http://ewomack.deviantart.com/art/In-Case-Of-Emergency-Break-Glass-379999078 deviantART Artist: ewomack

 

EMERGENCY:

1:  an unforeseen combination of circumstances or the resulting state that calls for immediate action

2:  an urgent need for assistance or relief <the mayor declared a state of emergency after the flood>

 

What will you do if there is an emergency? An earthquake, tornado or hurricane? What if there is a major power failure along the lines of the Northeast blackout of 2003?  In this technological age, it seems like everyone uses computers to run things these days and we are so dependent on everything running smoothly. Yet it was a software bug that was the primary cause of the blackout.

Have you thought of or planned for an emergency?

And how do you plan differently if you are disabled or you are a caregiver for a person with a disability?

We can never be too prepared or too organized in case something happens. The Government of Canada has an Emergency Preparedness Guide for People with Disabilities/Special Needs  page to help you create an emergency plan and kit.

This builds onYour Emergency Preparedness Guide (Step 1. Know the risks, Step 2. Make a plan, Step 3. Get an emergency kit) from the pull-down menu under Your Emergency Plan which also includes plans for children, pets and service animals and staying in touch during emergencies.

Below is the table of contents if you would like to read a particular section.

 

Table of Contents

 

There is a wealth of information on the site to help you prepare. This is not a subject people like to think about, but we must.

Because you never know when an emergency will be just around the corner.

5 Replies to “ABCs of Disability – The Letter E”

  1. Thanks for sharing your information on Emergency Kits for folks with chronic illness/disabilities. I know what I need to include if getting ready for a branch-breaking/tree falling kind of storm. But I don’t, even after Sandy!, had a specific, dedicated kit.
    Something important to add to my list. And thanks for the links to the Canada Emergency site.
    Let’s hope neither of us need to use emergency kits!

    Like

    1. That’s what is great about the site, it showed what else I should be looking at for kits. I already have a go bag and first aid kits but we still don’t think about some of the common sense things.

      And here’s to being prepared and not having to use them.

      Like

  2. You know how I am about Emergency Kits! Being prepared leads to less stress! I have an emergency kit in my purse in case I have a vertigo attack out of the house, I have an emergency kit in the car in case we break down…and if it’s icy of something. I have an emergency kit at home if we lose power…I do need to add to some things…worries me….need an escape ladder upstairs in case of a fire, but we’re moving soon. I do have fire extinguishers! and CO2 monitors…ect.
    I like to be prepared. You know I used to not be this way…and I was a Girl Scout..I know it’s the Boy Scout motto. But since I’ve gotten sick, I believe in being prepared, as long as I’m prepared i can handle it!
    I’ve had to use my emergency kits….and because of them I handled the situations with ease.

    Be Prepared!!! You are so cool to post this….my kind of gal! (I sound like I’m from the 50’s)

    Like

Leave a comment