Sunday Quotes – Poetry

(Image via vianegativa.us)

A poem begins as a lump in the throat, a sense of wrong, a homesickness, a lovesickness.
Robert Frost

A true poet does not bother to be poetical. Nor does a nursery gardener scent his roses.
Jean Cocteau

All bad poetry springs from genuine feeling.
Oscar Wilde

Even when poetry has a meaning, as it usually has, it may be inadvisable to draw it out… Perfect understanding will sometimes almost extinguish pleasure.
A. E. Housman

Breathe-in experience, breathe-out poetry.
Muriel Rukeyser

Every single soul is a poem.
Michael Franti

4 Replies to “Sunday Quotes – Poetry”

  1. great quotes, as usual, but I particularly liked:
    Breathe-in experience, breathe-out poetry.
    Muriel Rukeyser
    what a lovely way to look at poetry, the word and the world, and your adventures in and with it.
    Thanks for sharing. I think I’ll put Muriel Rukeyser’s quote on the wall next to where I have my laptop.

    Like

Leave a comment